My primary interest in art does not lie in the sphere of craftwork or techniques. Neither do I try to deliver appealing results appropriate for, or adapted to the viewer. The latter idea in particular exists in thousands upon thousands of versions. I call this kind of art »decorative painting«. In most cases, its only purpose is the ability to earn a living with it. That’s why artists are always very adapted/pretentious – to please the possible buyer and not to confront them with the very thoughts they try to avoid, by fixating only on the seemingly beautiful, colorful, illusory world.

There is also this widely-accepted and unquestioned misunderstanding: just because someone has studied art does not mean that they are an artist. They may have a perfect command of certain techniques and skills, but what they create is not automatically art. Someone can be a gifted craftsman, yet does not even come close to being an artist. Certainly, there is very much a difference between art and those things that are simply pleasant-looking.

If we wanted to equate the skill or craft of art with art as such, then every bricklayer, electrician, carpenter, florist, etc. would be an artist. I’ll take that idea even farther: everyone who masters their work / their craft well is an artist. Consequentially, every single person is an artist – each in their own, individual way.

A profession in any craft can be learned, therefore it is reproducible; it can be functional or decorative. But a work of art provokes someone’s emotions, someone’s inner world. I see it as essential for art to throw light on those things preferably concealed. Ideally, its task is to enlighten. Contemporary and time-critical. If this is not the case, why do we need artists? We can create decorative pictures ourselves if desired.

Personally, I am interested in such art that addresses certain conditions; the kind of issues that are swept under the rug, so to say. Of course, I also occasionally busy myself with, let’s call it, »mundane themes« or what you would name »easy going«. But here too, I am always concerned with the inherent background information.

I often hear, »Isn’t it a dream job to be an artist?« Yes, indeed it is, if it is your vocation. If not, it is one of the most difficult tasks to face, as it will always remain a balancing act between the established and prevailing norms and rules, rarely leading to social success and prestige; if any, usually only after the artist has passed away. History has already proven this to us.

I do love art. And yes, I do sh… on your norms and rules.

With love!
An Artist

 

Translated by Sequana Birkel

DENKSTAHL. art of a rebellious mind – The Book

288 Pages, 21×30 cm ISBN 978-3-941151-33-8DENKSTAHL.art of a rebellious mind Content Fly FalconRevelationProfileArtistic Developmentdigit-al streetartheadsliving on the walldenkstahlunited colors of denkstahl This 2nd edition is out of stock! Please see the 3rd...

Artist and author AL, DENKSTAHL – in an interview with Sequana Birkel

The DENKSTAHL artist AL challenges every single person to question their own values ​​and motives, while addressing the extent and consequences of an egoistic and consumer-oriented way of being with unshakable vehemence. The name DENKSTAHL (thoughts of steel) says it...

Denkstahl @ MakersPlace

From the universe to the multiverse via metaverse – one opportunity in our increasingly technocratic and digital world. And certainly art must not go amiss within the metaverse. Because, what would life be without art?! We are very excited to dive into the world of...

Digit-AL Streetart l DENKSTAHL

The artist AL is an autodidact and has been artistically active for more than 25 years. Having grown up in the Frankfurt milieu, rebellion against the existing social system and against injustice has shaped his life early on, and thereafter his art. His art...

Denkstahl – an artist between classical art history and rebellion

AL alias DENKSTAHL is an autodidact artist. While three decades ago his work was strongly influenced by abstract and action painting, he now has adopted digital art as his chosen profession and expression. Digital visual art has its origins in socially critical comics...

Sweet singing has betrayed some birds – Twittered Out

A tweet; a twittering, a birdsong. As we understand it today, a tweet no longer has anything to do with nature or the innocent, beautiful sound of a bird. Rather, it is representative of the entire digital world; for the abysses, temptations, and purposes of social...

Buy Art! Invest In Living Artists!

Because the dead ones don't need it! Do you want to buy art in order to live a more personal and inspiring life? Or maybe you are a patron who wants to promote art and the work of the artist? Or maybe you want to offer your employees and guests a special atmosphere in...

Digital Money Art by DENKSTAHL – powered by NFTs

In the summer of 2021 I purchased some DENKSTAHL artworks. In addition to the very beautiful artworks, I received a certificate signed by the artist for each piece, confirming the authenticity and uniqueness of these artworks. This additional certification is...

A day without a smile is a lost day – so what!?

DENKSTAHL’s work So What (orig. Na und) combines comedy, rebellion and tragedy in a cynical way. It is somewhat a tragic comedy; I dare say that this is an analogy to life. »It doesn't matter«, »so what«, »nevermind«, »it is not important« – many arguments have...

Just imagine, we would only be heads – HEADS I

The series HEADS by DENKSTAHL reinvents portraiture with political, religious and historical content. His digital collages are rich in well-known symbols and new-modern logos. The symbols make the artworks a narrative. With his pictures, DENKSTAHL tells his own...

REBELLIOUS ART

URBAN ART

NATURAL BORN

HEADS – WARPAINTING

Evolution by DENKSTAHL

Digital Art – Unique Piece, 310×110 cm

The pictures presented in our art blog are purchasable as DENKSTAHL UNIQUE PIECES, if they are still available.

A unique piece is a high-gloss print with pigmented ink on high-quality photo paper, laminated behind acrylic glass and reinforced by an aluminum back. Each unique piece is stamped with an artist’s stamp. For each artwork you will receive a certificate of authenticity signed by the artist and the biographical art book DENKSTAHL. art of a rebellious mind, which will be dedicated to you.

If you have any questions or are interested in an artwork, please send us your inquiry via e-mail to denkstahl@vollherzig.de. You can also arrange your individual appointment directly by phone: +49 1772851804.

Just imagine, we would only be heads – HEADS I

The series HEADS by DENKSTAHL reinvents portraiture with political, religious and historical content. His digital collages are rich in well-known symbols and new-modern logos. The symbols make the artworks a narrative. With his pictures, DENKSTAHL tells his own...

Sweet singing has betrayed some birds – Twittered Out

A tweet; a twittering, a birdsong. As we understand it today, a tweet no longer has anything to do with nature or the innocent, beautiful sound of a bird. Rather, it is representative of the entire digital world; for the abysses, temptations, and purposes of social...

Denkstahl @ MakersPlace

From the universe to the multiverse via metaverse – one opportunity in our increasingly technocratic and digital world. And certainly art must not go amiss within the metaverse. Because, what would life be without art?! We are very excited to dive into the world of...

Buy Art! Invest In Living Artists!

Because the dead ones don't need it! Do you want to buy art in order to live a more personal and inspiring life? Or maybe you are a patron who wants to promote art and the work of the artist? Or maybe you want to offer your employees and guests a special atmosphere in...

A day without a smile is a lost day – so what!?

DENKSTAHL’s work So What (orig. Na und) combines comedy, rebellion and tragedy in a cynical way. It is somewhat a tragic comedy; I dare say that this is an analogy to life. »It doesn't matter«, »so what«, »nevermind«, »it is not important« – many arguments have...

No picture on its own may honestly bespeak, what needs to be said

The partiality for artistry, that I live in every breath, what I give is never enough and never will it be, because every work that I create remains ever too meager to a degree. No picture on its own may honestly bespeak, what needs to be said as critique, all the...

Holy Dirty Money

The sinful use of money can already be found in the biblical name of Mammon: Mammon, a worshipped deity, originates from dishonestly acquired profit or immorally used wealth. »No one can serve two masters: Either he will hate one and love the other, or he will be...

And then when we leave someday

»And then when we leave someday, you'll miss us, ‘cause We are aliens.« We are aliens – this phrase from Marteria's song »Aliens«, if you just let it sink in for a moment, has the potential to constitute a whole philosophy, an attitude towards life, or even religion....

Denkstahl @ Max Papeschi in Milano

The DENKSTAHL artist AL visited his colleague Max Papeschi in Milano. AL and Max get along really well and are able to communicate with each other through their artworks. The language within their symbolic images and their meaningful titles are all they need. Both Max...

Digit-AL Streetart l DENKSTAHL

The artist AL is an autodidact and has been artistically active for more than 25 years. Having grown up in the Frankfurt milieu, rebellion against the existing social system and against injustice has shaped his life early on, and thereafter his art. His art...

REBELLIOUS ART

URBAN ART

TRIBUTE TO

NATURAL BORN

HEADS – WARPAINTING

HEADS – STARS

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
WordPress Cookie Plugin by Real Cookie Banner

Mein primäres Interesse an Kunst liegt nicht im Bereich des Handwerks, der Technik oder dem Versuch »schöne, dem Betrachter wohlwollende Ergebnisse« abzuliefern. Vor allem Letzteres gibt es zu tausenden und abertausenden Ausführungen. Ich nenne diese Art von Kunst »Schönmalerei«. In den meisten Fällen baut sie in erster Linie darauf auf, davon leben zu können, den Lebensunterhalt dadurch bestreiten zu können. Deshalb sind die Schönmaler immer sehr angepasst: um dem eventuellen Käufer zu gefallen und ihn bloß nicht mit Gedanken zu konfrontieren, denen er in seiner schönen bunten Scheinwelt versucht zu entfliehen. 

Da ist noch dieses allgemein akzeptierte und nicht hinterfragte Missverständnis: Nur weil jemand Kunst studiert hat, heißt es noch lange nicht, dass er ein Künstler ist. Er mag zwar gewisse Techniken und sein Handwerk perfekt beherrschen, was er erschafft, ist jedoch nicht unbedingt Kunst. Jemand kann ein begnadeter Handwerker sein, dennoch ist er noch lange kein Künstler. Denn es gibt sehr wohl einen Unterschied zwischen Kunst und Dingen, die einfach nur schön sind. 

Wenn wir (Kunst)Handwerk mit Kunst gleichsetzen wollten, dann wäre jeder Maurer, Elektriker, Schreiner, Florist usw. auch ein Künstler. Mehr noch: Jeder, der seine Arbeit / sein Handwerk gut beherrscht, wäre ein Künstler. Dann aber wäre jeder Mensch ein Künstler – jeder auf seine Art. 

Das Handwerk ist erlernbar und reproduzierbar, es kann funktional und dekorativ sein. Ein Kunstwerk aber provoziert die Gefühle einer Person. Ich sehe es als unabdingbare Aufgabe der Kunst, zu erklären und im besten Fall aufzuklären. Zeitgenössisch und zeitkritisch. Wenn dies nicht der Fall ist, wozu brauchen wir dann Künstler? Schöne Bilder kann zur Not jeder selbst gestalten.

Mich persönlich interessiert die Kunst, die gewisse Zustände thematisiert; die Art von Themen, die sozusagen unter den Teppich gekehrt werden. Natürlich widme ich mich auch mal, nennen wir es, »banalen Themen« oder dem, was man »leichte Kost« nennen würde. Aber auch hierbei geht es mir immer um die Information im Hintergrund, um das, was hinter den »Dingen« steckt. 

Oft werde ich gefragt: »Ist Künstler sein denn nicht ein Traumjob?« Ja, wenn man berufen ist, ist es so. Wenn nicht, ist es eine der schwierigsten Aufgaben, der man sich stellt, da sie immer eine Gratwanderung auf der Linie der geltenden Normen und Regeln bedeutet, die nur selten gesellschaftlichen Erfolg und Anerkennung findet. Und wenn überhaupt, dann meistens erst nach dem Ableben des Künstlers. Die Geschichte lehrt uns dies nur allzu deutlich. 

Ich liebe Kunst. Und ja, ich sch… auf Eure Normen und Regeln.

In Liebe! 
Ein Künstler 

Total Banane – und alles nur ein Affentheater?

Der Affe liebt sie. Der Mensch auch. In Deutschland ist die Banane das zweitbeliebteste Obst gleich nach dem Apfel. Die Banane hat heute nicht nur für unseren Magen, sondern auch in der Politik eine ebenso wichtige Bedeutung wie in der Kunst. Die Deutungsebenen der...

Streetart – Herkunft und Entwicklung

Die Urban Art Szene ist in den letzten Jahren drastisch gewachsen und hat mittlerweile eine eigene Strömung der Kunst gebildet. Urban Art ist eine interessante Mischung aus urbanem Lebensstil und Street Art. Im Vergleich zu Street Art findet Urban Art nicht...

Und wenn wir dann irgendwann gehen

»Und wenn Wir dann irgendwann gehen, werden Wir euch fehlen, denn Wir sind Aliens.« Wir sind Aliens – dieser Satzpartikel aus Marterias Lied »Aliens« kann, wenn man sich nur kurz darauf einlässt, eine ganze Philosophie, Lebenseinstellung oder gar Religion begründen....

Menschlichkeit oder von der Kunst, ein Mensch zu sein

Wir alle benutzen den Begriff der Menschlichkeit, bewerten und kategorisieren damit Verhaltensweisen nach »menschlich« und »unmenschlich«. Doch was bedeutet es, ein Mensch zu sein? Was ist Menschlichkeit oder Humanität? Die Philosophie definiert »menschlich« im Sinne...

Stell dir vor, wir wären nur Köpfe – HEADS II

Im zweiten Teil der HEADS Serie – STARS – porträtiert DENKSTAHL prominente Persönlichkeiten der neuzeitlichen Geschichte. Es sind die Filmstars, Musikstars, Kunststars, Politikstars und Sportstars einer Popkultur, es sind die Genies, Helden und Legenden, die DENKSTAHL...

Ist das Zebra ein schwarzes Tier mit weißen Streifen oder ein weißes Tier mit schwarzen Streifen?

Das Fehlen jeglichen Lichts, den Zustand absoluter Lichtlosigkeit nennen wir Dunkelheit, beziehungsweise ist es in unserem Verständnis die Farbe Schwarz. Diese kann bedrohlich und einschüchternd wirken, da sie etwas Unvorhersehbares hat, keine Orientierung bietet....

Don’t worry, be happy! – Eine Geschichte des Smileys

Don’t worry, be happy! »Blake hat das wahre Gesicht der Gesellschaft erkannt und beschlossen, ihre Parodie zu werden, ein Witz.« Mit diesen Worten wird der Antiheld Edward Blake in der fiktiven, gesellschaftskritischen Comic-Verfilmung »Watchmen« beschrieben. Er trägt...

Wortmord

Wenn wir einem Menschen all seine angeblichen Besitztümer nehmen, wenn wir ihn sozusagen nackt dastehen lassen – wenn er in seiner Nacktheit dasteht neben all den anderen Nackten, was ist dann das Letzte, das diesem Menschen geblieben ist, das er zu geben hat? Am Ende...

Von der Kunst, den Schatten zu lieben

Die Welt ist im Wandel: Wir sind aufgefordert, uns zu positionieren, uns mit unserer Welt auseinanderzusetzen. Und ethische Entscheidungen zu treffen; die Verantwortung für das Leben und den Planeten, für unser Handeln und Nicht-Handeln zu übernehmen und den Wandel...

Buy Art! Invest In Living Artists!

Denn die Toten brauchen's nicht! Möchtest Du Kunst kaufen, um persönlicher und inspirierender zu wohnen? Oder vielleicht weil Du ein Gönner bist, der die Kunst und das Schaffen des Künstlers fördern will? Oder weil Du in Deiner Firma Deinen Mitarbeitern und Gästen ein...

REBELLIOUS ART

URBAN ART

NATURAL BORN

Evolution by DENKSTAHL

Digital Art – Unikat, 310×110 cm

Die in unserem Kunstblog vorgestellten Bilder sind als DENKSTAHL UNIKATE erhältlich, sofern noch vorhanden.

Der Unikatdruck ist ein Einzelstück; ein Hochglanzdruck mit pigmentierter Tinte auf hochwertigem Fotopapier, kaschiert hinter Acrylglas und verstärkt durch eine Rückwand aus Aluminium. Jedes Unikat wird mit einem Künstler-Stempel versehen. Zu dem Kunstwerk erhältst Du ein vom Künstler signiertes Echtheitszertifikat und das Dir gewidmete biografische Kunstbuch DENKSTAHL. art of a rebellious mind.

Kontaktiere uns wegen eines Unikates telefonisch +49 1772851804 oder über unsere Kontaktseite.

Holy Dirty Money

Der sündhafte Umgang mit Geld ist schon in der biblischen Bezeichnung des Mammons zu finden: Mammon, die angebetete Gottheit ist ursprünglich ein unredlich erworbener Gewinn oder unmoralisch eingesetzter Reichtum. »Niemand kann zwei Herren dienen: Entweder er wird den...

Und wenn wir dann irgendwann gehen

»Und wenn Wir dann irgendwann gehen, werden Wir euch fehlen, denn Wir sind Aliens.« Wir sind Aliens – dieser Satzpartikel aus Marterias Lied »Aliens« kann, wenn man sich nur kurz darauf einlässt, eine ganze Philosophie, Lebenseinstellung oder gar Religion begründen....

Die Popularität des schillernden Zerfalls

Ich schaue an mir herunter. Die Hose hat zwar keine Löcher, doch ihre Farbe war schon immer ein Schwarz, das verbraucht wirkt, so als ob man sie zu oft gewaschen hätte; auf der Farbpalette irgendeine Mischung aus Altöl und angelaufenem Silber. Viel erwähnenswerter im...

Ein Tag ohne ein Lächeln ist ein verlorener Tag – Na und!?

Das Bild Na und von DENKSTAHL vereint auf eine zynische Art und Weise Komik, Rebellion und Tragik. Es hat etwas von einer Tragikkomödie; ähnlich wie das Leben. »Egal«, »na und«, »ist nicht wichtig« – auf diese Art und Weise hat wohl schon so manche Streiterei...

UNITED COLORS OF DENKSTAHL

Die werbliche Kommunikation erlebte ab den 80er Jahren eine Umwälzung, als das italienische Textil- und Modeunternehmen UNITED COLORS OF BENETTON in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fotografen Oliviero Toscani eine ungewöhnliche Image-Kampagne startete. Benetton sprach mit der...

Stell dir vor, wir wären nur Köpfe – HEADS II

Im zweiten Teil der HEADS Serie – STARS – porträtiert DENKSTAHL prominente Persönlichkeiten der neuzeitlichen Geschichte. Es sind die Filmstars, Musikstars, Kunststars, Politikstars und Sportstars einer Popkultur, es sind die Genies, Helden und Legenden, die DENKSTAHL...

Nichts hat keine Kehrseite

Ist das Bild Schachmatt von DENKSTAHL düster, gruselig, verrucht, abartig – kurzum böse? Die Bewertung der Gegebenheit hell als gut und der Gegebenheit dunkel als böse ist ein Resultat der polaren Welt, in der wir leben. Wenn ich von polar spreche, meine ich vor allem...

Digit-AL Streetart by Denkstahl – Street Art meets Digital Art

Der Künstler AL, DENKSTAHL ist Autodidakt und seit über 25 Jahren künstlerisch tätig. Aufgewachsen im Frankfurter Milieu prägten Rebellion gegen das bestehende Gesellschaftssystem und gegen Ungerechtigkeit schon früh sein Leben, später auch seine Kunst. Das...

Die Friedenstaube – Zur Bedeutung und Symbolik des Friedens

Wie kann es uns gelingen, die inneren Kämpfe und den Krieg zu beenden? Zufrieden und in Frieden zu sein? Wie können wir aufhören, jemanden oder etwas für unser eigenes Desaster verantwortlich zu machen und, sei es nur in Gedanken, ihn/sie/es vernichten zu wollen? Wird...

Der Künstler und Autor AL, DENKSTAHL – im Interview mit Sequana Birkel

Der DENKSTAHL Künstler AL fordert jeden einzelnen Menschen auf, die eigenen Werte und Motive zu hinterfragen, während er mit einer unerschütterlichen Vehemenz die Ausmaße und Folgen einer egoistischen und konsumorientierten Seinsweise thematisiert. Der Name DENKSTAHL...

REBELLIOUS ART

URBAN ART

TRIBUTE TO

HEADS – WARPAINTING

HEADS – STARS

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This